Inspired by the Italian Sanremo Festival, the idea to organise a pan-European competition for light music was born at a meeting of the European Broadcasting Union in Monaco, back in 1955. It was decided that the first ever Eurovision Song Contest would be hosted the following year in the Swiss resort of Lugano. The 1956 Eurovision Song Contest was primarily a radio show, although some cameras were taping the contest for the few Europeans who had a television set at that time. Lohengrin Filipello was hosting the programme, which lasted 1 hour and 40 minutes. The seven participating countries were represented with two songs each. The songs of the contest were not to exceed three and a half minutes, and the performers were accompanied by an orchestra of 24 musicians, led by Fernando Paggi.


01 Netherlands Jetty Paerl De Vogels Van Holland N/A 02
02 Switzerland Lys Assia Das Alte Karussell N/A 02
03 Belgium Fud Leclerc Messieurs Les Noyés De La Seine N/A 02
04 Germany Walter Andreas Schwarz Im Wartesaal Zum Großen Glück N/A 02
05 France Mathé Altéry Le Temps Perdu N/A 02
06 Luxembourg Michèle Arnaud Ne Crois Pas N/A 02
07 Italy Franca Raimondi Aprite Le Finestre N/A 02
08 Netherlands Corry Brokken Voorgoed Voorbij N/A 02
09 Switzerland Lys Assia Refrain N/A 01
10 Belgium Mony Marc Le Plus Beau Jour De Ma Vie N/A 02
11 Germany Freddy Quinn So Geht Das Jede Nacht N/A 02
12 France Dany Dauberson Il Est Là N/A 02
13 Luxembourg Michèle Arnaud Les Amants De Minuit N/A 02
14 Italy Tonina Torielli Amami Se Vuoi N/A 02

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.