The 8th Eurovision Song Contest took place in London, despite a French victory in the preceding year. Denmark’s first victory would become controversial topic. The honour of hosting this year’s song contest was handed over by the French to the United Kingdom. The main reason was that France did not want to host the song contest so soon after hosting it twice in Cannes in 1959 and 1961. Host Broadcaster BBC tried a different approach for the presentation of the Eurovision Song Contest. All songs were performed in one studio, but the audience was located in another. Each song had its own unique staging, and the change of set was done very quickly. Because of that, rumours arose that the performances were pre-recorded which later turned out to be untrue.

Big international stars took part in this year’s competition, like Esther Ofarim for Switzerland, Nana Mouskouri for Luxembourg and Francoise Hardy for Monaco. Norway’s jury was not ready with its voting when called in by the presenter Katie Boyle. The Norwegian head of jury was still busy adding up the individual votes of the 20 jury members. Struck by panic, the Norwegian jury secretary gave an intermediate result, reading the points very quickly and in the wrong order. In accordance with the rules, Mrs. Boyle told the TV audience that she would come back to the Norwegian jury after all the other countries had voted. When the final result came in from the Norwegian jury, they were decisively different from the intermediate ones and gave the victory to Norway’s Nordic neighbour Denmark in a close race with Switzerland.


01 Un. Kingdom Ronnie Carroll Say Wonderful Things 028 04
02 Netherlands Annie Palmen Een Speeldoos 000 13
03 Germany Heidi Brühl Marcel 005 09
04 Austria Carmela Corren Vielleicht Geschieht Ein Wunder 016 07
05 Norway Anita Thallaug Solhverv 000 13
06 Italy Emilio Pericoli Uno Per Tutte 037 03
07 Finland Laila Halme Muistojeni Laulu 000 13
08 Denmark Grethe and Jørgen Ingmann Dansevise 042 01
09 Yugoslavia Vice Vukov Brodovi 003 11
10 Switzerland Esther Ofarim T’en Va Pas 040 02
11 France Alain Barrière Elle était Si Jolie 025 05
12 Spain José Guardiola Algo Prodigioso 002 12
13 Sweden Monica Zetterlund En Gång I Stockholm 000 13
14 Belgium Jacques Raymond Waarom 004 10
15 Monaco Françoise Hardy L’amour S’en Va 025 05
16 Luxembourg Nana Mouskouri A Force De Prier 013 08

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.