Host Broadcaster BBC decided to arrange the 1972 Eurovision Song Contest outside of London and the honour of hosting it went to the Scottish capital Edinburgh. The contest resulted in two big hits all over the continent: Après Toi by winner Vicky Leandros and Beg, Steal Or Borrow by The New Seekers who ended up in second place.

Despite the victory of Monaco the previous year, the 1972 Eurovision Song Contest took place in Edinburgh. The reason that the contest did not take place in Monaco was because the small Mediterranean nation could not provide a decent venue. However, it was later rumoured that the real reason was that Monaco was not in a financial position to host the contest. The BBC took over and chose a venue outside of London for the first time. The contest was broadcast live to Asia for the first time with viewers in Japan, Taiwan, The Philippines, Hong Kong and Thailand, all able to watch the show. It also was the first year that a video wall was used to present song titles and artists.

For the third time already, Luxembourg won the song contest with the entry Aprés Toi performed by Vicky Leandros. The writer of the winning song, Yves Desca, also wrote the winning song of 1971 by Séverine. It was the first time in the history of the Song Contest that the same song writer won twice in a row and for two different countries.

Greek-born singer Vicky Leandros also took part in the contest for the second time and won for Luxembourg thanks to a well-planned PR campaign. This time she also used her surname, something she had avoided the first time when she participated just as “Vicky” in 1967. The winning song Après toi sold míllions of copies all over Europe, and Vicky Leandros appeared in TV-shows all over Europe. She would try to enter the Eurovision Song Contest again in 2006, but only came 3rd in the German national final for the contest.

The Irish entry Ceol An Ghrá by Sandie Jones was sung in the Irish language and until now, it remains the only song ever to be sung in Irish in the Eurovision Song Contest; Malta took part in the contest for the second time and came last again with Helen & Joseph’s L’ imhabba.


01 Germany Mary Roos Nur Die Liebe Läßt Uns Leben 107 03
02 France Betty Mars Comé-comédie 081 11
03 Ireland Sandie Jones Ceol On Ghrá 072 15
04 Spain Jaime Morey Amanece 083 10
05 Un. Kingdom The New Seekers Beg, Steal Or Borrow 114 02
06 Norway Grethe Kausland, Benny Borg Småting 073 14
07 Portugal Carlos Mendes A Festa Da Vida 090 07
08 Switzerland Véronique Müller C’est La Chanson De Mon Amour 088 08
09 Malta Helen and Joseph L-imhabba 048 18
10 Finland Päivi Paunu, Kim Floor Muistathan 078 12
11 Austria The Milestones Falter Im Wind 100 05
12 Italy Nicola di Bari I Giorni Dell’ Arcobaleno 092 06
13 Yugoslavia Tereza Muzika I Ti 087 09
14 Sweden Family Four Härliga Sommardag 075 13
15 Monaco Anne-Marie Godart,
Peter MacLane
Comme On S’aime 065 16
16 Belgium Serge, Christine Ghisoland À La Folie Ou Pas Du Tout 055 17
17 Luxembourg Vicky Leandros Après Toi 128 01
18 Netherlands Sandra and Andres Als Het Om De Liefde Gaat 106 04

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.