The 1998 Eurovision Song Contest from Birmingham resulted in a thrilling voting with the most controversial winner in the history of the contest: Dana International from Israel.

In 1998, for the 43rd edition of the Eurovision Contest, 25 countries participated in the event. All countries that were relegated in the 1997 Eurovision Song Contest came back plus FYR Macedonia entered the contest for the first time. Austria, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Denmark, Russia and Iceland were relegated in 1998 as their 5-year-average points were worse than those of all the other countries. Italian broadcaster RAI decided to withdraw permanently. Mass televoting took part for the first time and only countries which did not have a properly functioning telephone system were still allowed to vote through the national juries. There was a problem with the Spanish televote as Spanish televoters had awarded 12 points to Germany, but while announcing the points, the 12 points went to Israel! However, the mistake was quickly unearthed after the show and you have the correct rankings and points on our scoreboard here.

It was a taboo-breaking year for the contest which saw the performances of Israeli transsexual Dana International, whereas Germany brought balding singer, Guido Horn to the contest. Dana sang the fitting Diva while Horn climbed all over the stage during his crazy performance. The composer of the German song, TV star Stefan Raab, made a joke by using the pseudonym Alf Igel to mock another German Eurovision composer, Ralph Siegel, who had written more than 10 former Eurovision entry and who had already won the contest with Nicole’s Ein Bisschen Frieden in 1982. Guildo Horn’s extravagant performance resulted in record-breaking viewing figures in Germany. Fans even travelled abroad to be able to vote for the German entry. However, Guildo Hat Euch Lieb only ended up 7th.

The trophy of the 1998 Eurovision Song Conest went to the equally extravagant Dana International from Israel who got the largest part of media attention both before and after the show. During the voting process, it quickly became clear that either Israel, the United Kingdom or Malta were going to win, but the Macedonian vote did not give a single point to Malta’s Chiara, giving the victory to Israel. The United Kingdom came in second, and the Netherlands obtained their best result since 1975 – finishing at fourth place. Dana International was crowned with a gold and silver trophy which was made by the Birmingham School of Jewellery. For her reprise performance, Dana chose to wear a stunning designer feather dress which resulted in her being on the front side of almost all the European newspapers the following day.


01 Croatia Danijela Neka Mi Ne Svane 131 05
02 Greece Dionysia & Thalassa group Mia Krifi Evaisthissia 012 20
03 France Marie-Line Où Aller 003 24
04 Spain Mikel Herzog ¿Qué Voy A Hacer Sin Ti? 021 16
05 Switzerland Gunvor Lass Ihn 000 25
06 Slovakia Katarína Hasprová Modlitba 008 21
07 Poland Sixteen To Takie Proste 019 17
08 Israel Dana International Diva 172 01
09 Germany Guildo Horn Guildo Hat Euch Lieb 086 07
10 Malta Chiara The One That I Love 165 03
11 Hungary Charlie A Holnap Már Ném
Lesz Szomorú
004 23
12 Slovenia Vili Resnik Naj Bogovi Slišijo 017 18
13 Ireland Dawn Is Always Over Now? 064 09
14 Portugal Alma Lusa Se Eu Te Pudesse Abraçar 036 12
15 Romania Malina Olinescu Eu Cred 006 22
16 Un. Kingdom Imaani Where Are You? 166 02
17 Cyprus Michael Hajiyanni Genesis 037 11
18 Netherlands Edsilia Rombley Hemel En Aarde 150 04
19 Sweden Jill Johnson Kärleken är 053 10
20 Belgium Mélanie Cohl Dis Oui 122 06
21 Finland Edea Aava 022 15
22 Norway Lars A. Fredriksen Alltid Sommer 079 08
23 Estonia Koit Toome Mere Lapsed 036 12
24 Turkey Tüzmen Unutamazsin 025 14
25 FYR Macedonia Vlado Janevski Ne Zori, Zoro 016 19

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.