Latvia 2017: first heat of Supernova heat

photo: LTV

LATVIA – Latvia will participate in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017. The Latvian broadcaster Latvijas Televīzija (LTV) will organise the national final Supernova 2017 in order to select the Latvian entry for the 2017 contest in Kiev, Ukraine.

Between 16 and 20 songs will be selected to compete in the national final, which will consist of four shows: two heats, one semi-final and a final.

In the heats and the semi-final, four entries will be selected to advance from each show: two entries will be selected based on a public televote and two entries will be selected by a jury panel.

Four songs will ultimately qualify to compete in the final on 26 February 2017 where a public vote will exclusively select the winner.

The first heat took place on 5 February 2017. The eleven competing entries first faced a public vote where the top two songs advanced: “Magic Years” performed by Lauris Valters and “Who’s In Charge” performed by Laura Leen. An additional two qualifiers were selected from the remaining eight entries by the jury: “Up” performed by Franco Franco and “Spiritual Priest” performed by Miks Dukurs.